Presentation

Management

Pictures

Rent-A-Port

Beneficial interest AvH: 72.2%
AvH Contact: Koen Janssen
www.rentaport.be

Rent-A-Port develops greenfield port projects and port-linked Industrial zones. The complete management of the distribution of utilities (electricity, water, waste disposal, wastewater treatment) should make it possible to finance renewable energy and drinking water supply initiatives. These initiatives are implemented by the subsidiaries Rent-A-Port Green Energy and Infra Induss, a joint venture with Waterlink.

Information from the 2016 annual report

2016 was a year of consolidation and preparation of further growth for Rent-A-Port and Rent-A-Port Green Energy.

The balance sheet of Rent-A-Port was strengthened in 2016 by the sale of Rent-A-Port’s interest in the offshore wind farm projects Rentel, Seastar and Mermaid to the shareholders AvH and CFE. The level of debt decreased significantly. The development activities in Vietnam and Oman, which account for a substantial part of the result of Rent- A-Port, are recognized according to the equity method.

Staff recruitment in Oman, Vietnam and Qatar has increased the workforce of the Rent-A-Port Group to 330 people. These employees specialize in engineering, financial management and port-related operations.

In Vietnam and Oman, steps were taken to strengthen the control of the group’s own electricity grids. The local and central authorities of those countries would also like to see more green energy being produced, bringing the reorientation in favour of wind energy, solar panels and waste-to-energy conversion to a decisive stage.

In the province of Quang Ninh (Vietnam), Rent-APort took the lead in securing two major concessions: Tien Phong South (360 ha, without external partners) and Tien Phong North (1,200 ha, in joint venture with a Qatari partner). The water engineering works of Tien Phong South started in 2016, and the administrative organization was put in place for a first industrial park. The requisite ‘Investment Certificate’ was obtained on December 28, 2016. This project is similar to what Rent-A-Port did with the Dinh Vu concession in 2001-2004.

The home country approach, involving an in-depth knowledge of the country and the necessary contacts, was successfully applied in 2016 in Vietnam, Oman and Qatar. In Vietnam, several initiatives were undertaken in close collaboration with the national government in Hanoi to turn the electricity grid of Dinh Vu into an independent entity, the large-scale disposal of all floating waste in Halong Bay, and the production of fresh water for irrigation in the Mekong Delta.

16-3618-Rent APort _Tabel _UK

Open

Présentation

Direction

Photos

Rent-A-Port

Beneficial interest AvH: 72,2%
AvH Contact: Koen Janssen
www.rentaport.be

Rent-A-Port développe des projets portuaires et des zones industrielles portuaires ‘greenfield’. La gestion intégrale de la distribution des services collectifs (électricité, eau, collecte des déchets, épuration d’eau) doit permettre de financier les initiatives en matière d’énergie renouvelable et d’approvisionnement en eau potable. Ces initiatives sont mises en oeuvre par les filiales Rent-A-Port Green Energy et Infra Induss, un joint venture avec Waterlink.

Informations extraites du rapport annuel 2016

2016 a été, pour Rent-A-Port et Rent-A-Port Green Energy, une année de consolidation et de préparation de la croissance future.

La cession de la participation de Rent-A-Port dans les parcs éoliens offshore Rentel, Seastar et Mermaid aux actionnaires AvH et CFE a permis de renforcer le bilan de Rent-A-Port en 2016. Le ratio d’endettement a sensiblement diminué. Les activités de développement au Vietnam et à Oman, qui expliquent pour une part substantielle le résultat de Rent-A-Port, sont intégrées par mise en équivalence.

Suite aux recrutements opérés à Oman, au Vietnam et au Qatar, l’effectif en personnel du groupe Rent-A-Port a augmenté et s’établit actuellement à 330 collaborateurs. Ceux-ci sont spécialisés en engineering, en gestion financière et en opérations portuaires.

Au Vietnam et à Oman, des pas ont été franchis en vue de renforcer le contrôle des réseaux de distribution d’électricité du groupe. Les autorités locales et centrales de ces pays sont en plus demandeuses pour la production d’énergie verte, si bien que la transition vers l’éolien, les panneaux solaires et le ‘waste to energy’ entre dans une phase décisive.

Dans la province de Quang Ninh (Vietnam), Rent- A-Port a pris la direction lors de l’obtention de deux grandes concessions : Tien Phong Sud (360 ha, sans partenaire externe) et Tien Phong Nord (1.200 ha, en partenariat avec une entreprise du Qatar). En 2016, le remblayage hydraulique de Tien Phong Sud a commencé et la structure administrative nécessaire a été mise en place pour un premier parc industriel. Le ’Investment Certificate’ requis a été obtenu le 28 décembre 2016. Ce projet est sur la même ligne de ce que Rent-A-Port a réalisé avec la concession Dinh Vu dans les années 2001 à 2004.

L’approche ‘home country’, avec une connaissance approfondie du pays et les contacts nécessaires, a été appliquée avec succès au Vietnam, à Oman et au Qatar en 2016. C’est ainsi qu’au Vietnam, en étroite concertation avec le gouvernement national à Hanoï, une série d’initiatives ont été entreprises pour l’autonomisation du réseau de distribution électrique de Dinh Vu, l’enlèvement massif des déchets flottants de la Baie d’Halong et la production d’eau douce propre à l’irrigation dans le Delta du Mékong.

Rentaport1

Open