Presentation

Management

Pictures

Oriental Quarries & Mines

Beneficial interest AvH: 50%
AvH Contact: John-Eric Bertrand
www.orientalaggregates.com

Oriental Quarries & Mines (OQM), a joint venture between AvH and Oriental Structural Engineers, is active in the exploitation and production of aggregates for the construction of roads, pavements, airfields, railways, racing circuits and buildings, and for the production of ready-made concrete. The products of OQM are marketed under the brand name ‘Oriental Aggregates’.

Information from the 2016 annual report

OQM was operating three quarries at the end of 2016: in Mau and Bilaua (in the Gwalior region in northern India) and in Bidadi (southern India). Aggregates from OQM’s quarries in northern India are used for large infrastructure works such as highways, railways and racing circuits. The Bidadi quarry focuses primarily on the market of ready-made concrete and real estate projects.

2016 was a challenging year for OQM. The decision of the government to replace banknotes slowed down building activity. This had a knock-on effect on the demand for aggregates in the various regions, particularly during the fourth quarter of 2016. In Bidadi, demand also suffered considerably from the lack of new real estate projects. Mau and Bilaua were affected by certain changes in the regulations governing the mining industry, which led to a temporary closure of all plants in the Bilaua area. Nevertheless, OQM realized a turnover of 9.5 million euros in 2016. AvH recognized a goodwill impairment on its interest in OQM against the 2016 result.

The industry expects a vigorous recovery in the demand for infrastructure as the government’s tax revenues increase in 2017 and the government implements its plan to stimulate public spending. The demand for aggregates is expected to increase in 2017 throughout the country, fuelled by the start of several highway projects. The gradual decrease in mortgage rates at the beginning of 2017 should also create fresh demand on the housing market.

16-3618-OQM_Tabel _UK

Open

Présentation

Direction

Photos

Oriental Quarries & Mines

Beneficial interest AvH: 50%
AvH Contact: John-Eric Bertrand
www.orientalaggregates.com

Oriental Quarries & Mines (OQM), une joint venture d’AvH et Oriental Structural Engineers, est active dans l’exploitation et la production d’agrégats destinés à la construction de routes, pavés, aérodromes, chemins de fer, circuits automobiles et bâtiments, ainsi qu’à la production de béton prêt à l’emploi. Les produits d’OQM sont commercialisés sous la marque ‘Oriental Aggregates’.

Informations extraites du rapport annuel 2016

Fin 2016, OQM exploitait trois carrières : à Mau et Bilaua (dans la région de Gwalior, dans le nord de l’Inde) et à Bidadi (sud de l’Inde). Les agrégats provenant des carrières d’OQM dans le nord de l’Inde sont utilisés pour de grands travaux d’infrastructure comme des autoroutes, des chemins de fer et des circuits automobiles. La carrière de Bidadi se focalise principalement sur le marché du béton prêt à l’emploi et les projets immobiliers.

OQM a dû faire face à de sérieux défis en 2016. La décision du gouvernement de remplacer les billets de banque a entraîné un ralentissement de l’activité dans la construction. Ceci s’est répercuté sur la vente d’agrégats dans les différentes régions, surtout au cours du quatrième trimestre 2016. A Bidadi, la demande a aussi fortement souffert du manque de nouveaux projets immobiliers. Mau et Bilaua ont été affectées par une série de modifications dans la réglementation du secteur minier, ce qui a notamment conduit à une fermeture temporaire de tous les sites dans la zone de Bilaua. OQM a néanmoins réalisé en 2016 un chiffre d’affaires de 9,5 millions d’euros. AvH a comptabilisé, à charge du résultat 2016, une réduction de valeur sur le goodwill sur sa participation dans OQM.

Le secteur s’attend à une solide reprise de la demande d’infrastructures compte tenu d’une augmentation des recettes fiscales du gouvernement en 2017 et de son intention de stimuler les dépenses publiques. Selon les prévisions, la demande d’agrégats augmentera dans tout le pays en 2017, soutenue par le lancement de plusieurs projets autoroutiers. La baisse progressive des taux hypothécaires au début de 2017 devrait également ranimer la demande sur le marché du logement.

Oriental

Open