Manuchar

30%

(USD 1.000, BGAAP) 2017 2016
Turnover 1,399,848 1,224,059
EBITDA 55,480 61,318
Net result (group share) 176 10,697
Shareholders' equity (group share) 82,510 88,399
Net financial position -375,430 -308,254

Key figures

Management

Pictures

Manuchar

Beneficial interest 30%
AvH Contact: Matthias De Raeymaeker
www.manuchar.com

Manuchar is active in the purchase and sale of a wide range of raw materials, with a particular focus on chemicals and steel. In addition, Manuchar provides added value in the logistics (both maritime and inland), distribution and financing of these products. Manuchar focuses on growth markets, and has more than 2,000 employees in more than 40 countries, mainly in Latin America, Africa and Asia.

Information from the 2017 annual report

In the chemicals segment, Manuchar combines its trading activities in emerging markets with the distribution and the provision of logistics services. The company mainly focuses on chemicals for powder detergents, Home & Personal Care, Mining, Oil & Gas, and also fertilisers. The result was negatively affected to a significant extent by start-up losses in its sodium sulphate production facility in Mexico.

The historical core activities such as steel trading, and the trading and distribution of chemicals, performed relatively well, despite a difficult start in 2017. Both activities showed an improvement towards the end of the year, which meant that the profitability of these two activities in the second half of the year was in line with the average profitability achieved in 2016. Manuchar pinpointed its strategy in 2017, and intends to focus even more strongly on the development of the trading, logistics and distribution of dry bulk chemicals (sodium sulphate, sodium carbonate).

Manuchar continues its strategy of maintaining control and managing costs throughout the value chain by means of own warehouses. In 2017, investments were made in additional storage capacity in Vietnam and Brazil, and a new branch was opened in Pakistan. This supports the geographic growth and the associated increasing demand for these products.

The production facility for sodium sulphate in Mexico, which became operational at the end of 2016, achieved an increased production in 2017. Manuchar is responsible for a significant part of the Chinese export. Manuchar wants to meet the growing demand of the global market, in particular for South American sources. At the same time, the company is also aiming to monitor the quality, from the exploitation up to the delivery to the customer. The production process still had to be perfected in 2017, which affected the result.

Manuchar is well positioned to supply its customers from the different continents.

Open

Press releases

19/06/2007 AvH acquires a 20%-stake in Manuchar

Manuchar

30%

(USD 1.000, BGAAP) 2017 2016
Chiffre d'affaires 1.399.848 1.224.059
EBITDA 55.480 61.318
Résultat net (part groupe) 176 10.697
Fonds propres (part groupe) 82.510 88.399
Trésorerie nette -375.430 -308.254

Chiffres clés

Direction

Photos

Manuchar

Beneficial interest 30%
AvH Contact: Matthias De Raeymaeker
www.manuchar.com

Manuchar est active dans l’achat et la vente d’un large éventail de matières premières, tout en se focalisant sur les produits chimiques et l’acier. Manuchar offre en outre une valeur ajoutée dans la logistique (à la fois maritime et terrestre), la distribution, de même que le financement de ces produits. Manuchar se tourne vers les marchés émergents et est active, avec plus de 2.000 collaborateurs, dans plus de 40 pays, principalement en Amérique latine, Afrique et Asie.

Informations extraites du rapport annuel 2017

Dans le secteur chimique, Manuchar combine ses activités commerciales dans les marchés émergents avec des services logistiques et de distribution. L’entreprise se concentre avant tout sur les produits chimiques pour détergents en poudre, Home & Personal Care, Mining, Oil & Gas, ainsi que les engrais. Le résultat a été, dans une large mesure, influencé négativement par les pertes initiales de son site de production de sulfate de sodium au Mexique.

Les activités de base historiques, à savoir le trading de l’acier et le trading et la distribution de produits chimiques, ont affiché d’assez bonnes performances malgré un départ difficile en 2017. Pour ces deux activités, une amélioration s’est dessinée vers la fin de l’année, si bien que la rentabilité des deux activités au second semestre était comparable à la rentabilité moyenne réalisée sur l’année 2016. Manuchar a affiné sa stratégie en 2017 et entend se focaliser plus nettement encore sur le développement du trading, de la logistique et de la distribution de produits chimiques secs en vrac (sulfate de sodium, carbonate de soude).

Manuchar poursuit sa stratégie visant à conserver le contrôle et à maîtriser les coûts tout au long de la chaîne de valeur via ses propres entrepôts. En 2017, des investissements ont été réalisés dans des capacités de stockage supplémentaires au Vietnam et au Brésil et une nouvelle filiale a été ouverte au Pakistan. Ces efforts soutiennent la croissance géographique et, en corollaire, la demande croissante pour ces produits.

L’unité de production de sulfate de sodium au Mexique, qui est devenue opérationnelle fin 2016, a vu sa production augmenter en 2017. Manuchar prend à son compte une part importante des exportations chinoises. Manuchar vise à répondre à la demande croissante sur le marché mondial, en particulier pour les ressources sud-américaines. Elle vise également à mieux surveiller la qualité de l’exploitation jusqu’à la livraison au client. En 2017, les procédés de production devaient encore être affinés. Cela a pesé sur le résultat.

Manuchar est bien placée pour approvisionner ses clients de différents continents.

Open

Communiqués de presse