Management

Pictures

Transpalux

Beneficial interest 45%
AvH Contact: Tom Bamelis
www.transpalux.com

Transpalux is a French leader in the rental of filming equipment. It has a wide range of lighting equipment, cameras, vehicles and generators. Transpalux is also the leading manager of film studios in France.

Information from the 2016 annual report

The company puts its know-how and more than 65 years of experience at the service of the greatest producers and directors. Each year, Transpalux is involved in the production of more than 200 feature films and television productions.

For instance, in 2016 it supplied Europacorp, the company of Luc Besson, with all the lighting equipment for the blockbuster ‘Valérian et la cité des mille planètes’, which will be screened in June 2017.

2016 also saw a crucial change in the law on tax credits for film productions, which increased from 20% to 30%. This new tax arrangement is far more advantageous for the French film producers, allowing many productions to come back to France and especially preventing others from leaving.

In 2016, Transpalux realized a turnover of 29.7 million euros (a 19% increase) and an operating cash flow (EBITDA) of 3.5 million euros. The net result of the group amounted to 1.4 million euros. This vigorous increase in the result was also made possible by the acquisition of the operation of the Brysur- Marne studios. The turnover of these studios amounted to nearly 4 million euros for the first full financial year, which confirms the site’s potential.

The ‘museums and exhibitions’ activity also made a good contribution to the result. Development of electrical equipment for trade fairs continued.

Finally, November 2016 saw a change of the principal shareholder of Transpalux. The B Live group acquired the 55% controlling interest held by the Watchers group.

The outlook for the Transpalux group in 2017 remains encouraging, and the group has already landed several major productions for 2017, despite increased competition. The tax system will continue to be beneficial for Transpalux, which is ideally placed to work for big film productions. The only possible hitch is increased competition from the other French players, who will not hesitate to drastically cut their margins. Transpalux can count on the quality and know-how of its teams.

16-3618-Transpalux _Tabel _UK

Open

Direction

Photos

Transpalux

Beneficial interest 45%
AvH Contact: Tom Bamelis
www.transpalux.com

Transpalux est un acteur français de premier plan dans la location de matériel pour le cinéma. L’entreprise dispose d’un parc étendu de matériel d’éclairage, de caméras, de véhicules et de générateurs. Transpalux est aussi le plus grand exploitant de studios de cinéma en France.

Informations extraites du rapport annuel 2016

L’entreprise met son savoir-faire et plus de 65 ans d’expérience au service des plus grands producteurs et réalisateurs. Transpalux est ainsi impliquée chaque année dans la production de plus de 200 films pour le cinéma et la télévision.

Elle a par exemple livré en 2016 à Europacorp, la société de Luc Besson, tout l’équipement d’éclairage pour la superproduction ‘Valérian et la cité des mille planètes’ qui sortira en salle en juin 2017.

2016 a aussi été marquée par une modification cruciale de la loi sur le crédit d’impôt pour les productions cinématographiques, qui est passé de 20% à 30%. Cette nouvelle disposition fiscale est beaucoup plus avantageuse pour les producteurs français, si bien que bon nombre de productions ont pu retourner en France et surtout que le départ d’autres productions a été évité.

Transpalux a enregistré en 2016 un chiffre d’affaires de 29,7 millions d’euros (une hausse de 19%), avec un cash-flow opérationnel (EBITDA) de 3,5 millions d’euros. Le résultat net du groupe a atteint 1,4 million d’euros. Cette forte progression du résultat a également été rendue possible par l’acquisition de l’exploitation des studios de Bry-sur-Marne. Le chiffre d’affaires de ces studios a atteint, pour le premier exercice complet, près de 4 millions d’euros, ce qui confirme le potentiel du site.

L’activité ‘musées et expositions’ a bien contribué, elle aussi, au résultat. Les installations électriques pour foires et salons ont encore été développées.

Enfin, 2016 a été marquée par le changement de l’actionnaire principal de Transpalux au mois de novembre. Le groupe B Live a repris la part majoritaire de 55% détenue par le groupe Watchers.

Les perspectives du groupe Transpalux pour 2017 restent encourageantes et le groupe s’est déjà assuré quelques grosses productions pour l’année 2017, malgré une concurrence accrue. Le régime fiscal continuera à jouer en faveur de Transpalux, idéalement placée pour travailler pour de grandes productions de films. La seule fausse note éventuelle est la concurrence accrue de la part des autres acteurs français, lesquels n’hésitent pas à réduire drastiquement leur marge. Transpalux peut compter sur la qualité et le savoir-faire de ses équipes.

Transpalux

Open