Sofinim is a prominent investment company in Belgium specialised in private equity. Sofinim provides development capital to medium-sized and larger companies. We apply an industrial and long-term vision.

We do not interfere with daily management, but team up with the management and shareholders to form a partnership. We contribute proactively to strategic thinking and keep up to date on the company's operating and financial situation via the Board of Directors. We also set out to become a sounding board for the company's management, sharing and understanding their concerns.

  • We have in-depth experience in a broad range of industrial branches and sectors as well as in different countries. We offer the benefits of an experienced, stable team with a specific know-how, and an extensive network of contacts.
  • We focus on companies with first-rate management, a good financial track record and an above-average growth capital. We finance management buy-outs and buy-ins, provide growth capital and take minority as well as majority participations. We invest for both the long and short term. Our strong asset base enables us to frame dividend policies according to the financial needs of our partner companies, and to subscribe to new share issues to provide additional capital for companies capable of continued probitable growth.

 

When can we help you?

Whether you wish to sell part or all your share capital, or whether you are seeking financing for substantial investment or acquisition projects combined with strategic advice for management and shareholders, we are here to help you.

  • development capital: e.g. to expand capacity, launch a new product range, penetrate a new geographic market.
  • finance management buy-outs or buy-ins
  • share purchases from external and/or family shareholders
  • acquisition financing (buy & build)
  • pre-flotation funding

We welcome requests from medium-size and larger companies in all these situations, and are always prepared to try and develop flexible, tailor-made solutions to meet your needs.

In principle, we do not invest in company start-ups or investment funds.

 

What type of businesses are we looking for?

Sofinim is especially interested in medium-sized and larger companies with:

  • a competent entrepreneurial and dedicated management team
  • a clear vision and a detailed business plan
  • a strong and stable market position
  • a good financial track record
  • promising prospects for profitable growth
  • transparent decision procedures underpinned by an efficient and rigorous reporting system
  • headquarters in or within a range of 300 km of the Benelux countries
  • European ambitions.

 

What can we offer you?

In addition to equity, Sofinim can provide added value in several other areas.

Financial and shareholders stability

Sofinim has a strong asset base which enables us to provide sound businesses with long-term support. With this in mind, the dividend policy is tailored to the company's financial needs. We also apply a policy of follow-up investments: some 50% of the money invested by Sofinim takes the form of follow-on financing for existing participations. Hence, your company can rely on the financial support to develop and grow.

Knowledge and experience

Sofinim contributes to strategic thinking and cooperation with the management of partner companies and actively keeps up to date on their progress. Our stable, multidisciplinary team of experienced professionals has practical experience built up through working in linemanagement, and bring their know-how to bear for the benefit of your company. We also have in-depth experience of large-scale transactions in the Benelux countries, acting as the lead investor gathering together other investors as appropriate and coordinating the overall transaction.

A network of Belgian and foreign contacts

Our shareholders' many years of experience, their financial and business credibility, and their broad range of corporate interests can give you access to the right contacts.

Applying the discipline of corporate governance

We actively support the initiatives in Belgium in the area of corporate governance.

Fast, independent decision-making processes

Sofinim brings you the benefit of a small team with short lines of communication to its Board of Directors and shareholders.

 

For more information, contact the Sofinim team

Sofinim est une société d'investissement belge éminente qui estspécialisée dans le private equity. Sofinim met des capitaux à risque à la disposition de moyennes ou plus grandes entreprises. Pour cela, nous prônons une optique industrielle et à long terme.

Nous n'intervenons pas dans la gestion quotidienne des entreprises dans lesquelles nous participons. Nous désirons par contre être des partenaires avec le management et les actionnaires. Cela implique une participation proactive à l'élaboration de la stratégie, en conjonction avec un suivi des affaires au niveau du Conseil d'Administration. Nous aspirons à partager et comprendre les préoccupations de votre management et à leur donner un écho.

  • Nous sommes proches de nombreux secteurs industriels ayant de l'expérience dans plusieurs pays. Nous disposons d'une équipe stable, des professionnels expérimentés disposant d'un savoir-faire spécifique, et d'un large réseau de contacts.
  • Nous nous intéressons surtout aux entreprises ayant un management expérimenté, une bonne rentabilité en perspective et un profil de croissance supérieur à la moyenne. Nous finançons les buy-in et buy-out, fournissons des capitaux de croissance et prenons des participations de minorité et de majorité. Nous investissons tant à long terme qu'à court terme. Grâce à la solidité de notre bilan, nous pouvons adapter la politique des dividendes aux besoins financiers de l'entreprise et souscrire à des augmentations de capital complémentaires afin de soutenir sa croissance.

 

Vous pouvez compter sur nous

Votre projet nous intéresse dès lors qu'il s'agit d'une reprise partielle ou totale, minoritaire ou majoritaire, pour autant que le financement soit lié à un accompagnement stratégique du management et des actionnaires. Vous pouvez compter sur notre créativité et notre flexibilité pour vous apporter une solution sur mesure en matière de:

  • capitaux de croissance: augmentation de la capacité de production, lancement d'un nouveau produit, pénétration de nouveaux marchés sur le plan géographique.
  • financement de reprise par le management (MBO/MBI)
  • reprise de parts d'actionnaires existants
  • financement d'acquisition en cas de reprise d'une autre société (buy & build)
  • pre-flotation funding en vue d'une introduction en bourse

En principe, nous n'investissons pas dans des entreprises débutantes (start-up) et dans des fonds.

 

Quels sont nos prospects?

Sofinim est intéressée dans les moyennes ou plus grandes entreprises ayant:

  • un management compétent et entrepreneurial
  • une vision claire et un projet d'entreprise rigoureusement élaboré
  • une position forte et stable sur le marché
  • une gestion financière antérieure saine
  • des perspectives de croissance rentables
  • des procédures décisionnelles transparentes, fondées sur un système de reporting performant et rigoureux
  • un quartier général dans le Benelux ou dans un rayon de 300 km
  • des ambitions européennes

 

Que vous offrons-nous?

Outre des capitaux, Sofinim apporte une valeur ajoutée dans un ensemble de domaines. 

Stabilité financière et des actionnaires

Sofinim possède une large assise financière lui permettant de soutenir ses participations dans la poursuite des perspectives de croissance à long terme. C'est pourquoi la politique des dividendes est adaptée aux besoins financiers de l'entreprise. Il en est de même de notre politique de réinvestissement : ces dernières années 50% des montants investis par Sofinim ont été alloués aux investissements dans nos participations existantes.

Compétences et expériences

Sofinim participe aux réflexions stratégiques du management et suit activement l'évolution de votre entreprise. Ceci grâce à l'éventail de compétences d'une équipe stable et multidisciplinaire de professionnels, ayant eux-mêmes exercé des fonctions opérationnelles. Nous sommes également en mesure de prendre part à des transactions plus importantes à travers le Benelux. Le cas échéant, nous pouvons intervenir comme investisseur principal, rassemblant d'autres parties et coordonnant la transaction.

Réseau de contacts en Belgique et à l'étranger

Nous nous sommes forgés un large réseau grâce à nos nombreuses années d'expérience, à notre crédibilité et aux ramifications de nos actionnaires.

Corporate governance

Nous soutenons activement les efforts réalisés en Belgique dans ce domaine.

Processus de décision rapide etindépendance

Nous sommes une petite équipe qui entretient des liens étroits avec son Conseil d'Administration et ses actionnaires.

 

Pour plus d'informations, contactez l'équipe Sofinim.