Management

Pictures

ASCO-BDM

Beneficial interest AvH: 50%
AvH Contact: Tom Bamelis
www.bdmantwerp.be
www.ascocontinentale.be

The insurance group ASCO-BDM provides marine and industrial Insurance via brokers. BDM is an insurance underwriting agency offering risk coverage in niche markets on behalf of the insurer ASCO and a number of major international insurers. The close collaboration between BDM and ASCO within the same group assures BDM of a substantial underwriting capacity and offers ASCO a powerful commercial instrument.

Information from the 2016 annual report

BDM continued to focus in 2016 on the marketing of niche products in ‘Property & Casualty’ through a network of medium-sized insurance brokers, supported by the recruitment of a Chief Commercial Officer and a number of technical experts. In the Marine segment, commercial campaigns helped to further increase the market share in Pleasure Cruising.

The ‘Property & Casualty’ portfolio increased by 3% in 2016. A solid growth in niche segments such as Engineering (+13%) was moderated somewhat by a deliberate reduction of the share in more volatile business.

The Marine portfolio experienced another decrease, albeit much less markedly than in 2015. This was primarily a result of the end of the reorganizations that were carried out in previous years, as well as of a decrease in commodity prices and the weak market in Cargo and Hull. A cautious recovery of the premium volume could be seen by the end of 2016.

 

ASCO’s gross premiums increased by 4% in ‘Property & Casualty’, but decreased by 37% in Marine. This decrease is the result of the reorganizations that were carried out in this part of the portfolio in previous years, but at the same time it generated very good technical results in this segment. Despite a disappointing technical result in Cars, and even after taking into account ASCO’s share in the terrorism segment (cf. the terrorist attacks of 22/3/2016), ASCO at year-end 2016 reported the best technical result in many years.

Very good investment results and overheads that are well under control contributed to a net profit of 1.1 million euros, compared with a net profit of 0.2 million euros in 2015.

 

In 2017, the group wants to further develop its commercial network of small and medium-sized insurance brokers in ‘Property & Casualty’. ASCO-BDM wants to project itself, more than ever before, through direct contact with the product specialists, as a partner for insurance brokers in the fields where it can offer specific expertise.

16-3618-ASCO_BDM_Tabel _UK

Open

Press releases

Direction

Photos

ASCO-BDM

Beneficial interest AvH: 50%
AvH Contact: Tom Bamelis
www.bdmantwerp.be
www.ascocontinentale.be

Le groupe d’assurances ASCO-BDM se concentre, via des courtiers, sur les assurances maritimes et industrielles. BDM est une agence de souscription proposant des solutions de couverture de risques dans des niches spécifiques pour le compte de l’assureur ASCO et de quelques grandes compagnies d’assurances internationales. La collaboration intensive entre BDM et ASCO au sein du même groupe assure à BDM une importante capacité de souscription tout en offrant à ASCO un canal de distribution puissant.

Informations extraites du rapport annuel 2016

BDM a pu se concentrer davantage, en 2016, sur la commercialisation des produits de niche ‘Property & Casualty’ via les courtiers en assurance de moyenne importance, procédant à cet effet au recrutement d’un Chief Commercial Officer et de plusieurs spécialistes techniques. Dans le secteur Marine, les actions commerciales menées ont permis d’accroître encore la part de marché dans la ‘Navigation de plaisance’.

Le portefeuille ‘Property & Casualty’ a progressé de 3% en 2016. La forte croissance enregistrée dans les activités de niche, comme Engineering (13%), a été quelque peu contrebalancée par une réduction volontaire de la part dans les activités plus volatiles.

Le portefeuille Marine a connu une nouvelle baisse, nettement moins prononcée qu’en 2015. Ceci résulte avant tout de l’achèvement des assainissements entamés ces dernières années, mais aussi de la baisse des prix des matières premières et de la faiblesse du marché en Cargo et Hull. Vers la fin de l’année 2016, un redressement prudent du volume de primes était perceptible.

 

Les primes brutes d’ASCO ont augmenté de 4% en ‘Property & Casualty’, mais ont diminué de 37% en Marine. Cette dernière baisse est la résultante des actions d’assainissement opérées ces dernières années dans cette partie du portefeuille, mais s’est aussi accompagnée de très bons résultats techniques dans ce segment. Malgré un résultat technique décevant en Voiture, et même après la prise en compte de la part d’ASCO dans le ‘pool terrorisme’ (cf. les attentats terroristes du 22/03/16), ASCO a enregistré, fin 2016, le meilleur résultat technique depuis des années.

Grâce à d’excellents résultats d’investissement et à des frais généraux sous contrôle, le bénéfice net s’est établi à 1,1 million d’euros, contre un bénéfice net de 0,2 million d’euros en 2015.

 

En 2017, le groupe vise, en ‘Property & Casualty’, une nouvelle extension de son réseau commercial constitué de petits et moyens courtiers en assurance. ASCO-BDM entend se profiler plus que jamais, à travers le contact direct avec les spécialistes produits, comme un partenaire des courtiers en assurance dans les domaines où l’entreprise peut offrir une expertise spécifique.

Asco1

Open

Communiqués de presse