Presentation

Bank J.Van Breda & C° NV

AvH: 78.75%

(€ 1,000) 2017 2016
Bank product 141,380 133,964
Net result 39,081 37,736
Shareholders' equity 538,718 518,257
Balance sheet total 5,424,639 4,992,240
Client assets 13,742,754 12,448,468
Loan portfolio 4,528,679 4,223,318
Net loan loss provision (%) 0.04 0.01
Cost-income ratio (%) 59.1 59.4
Return on equity (%) 7.4 7.4
Core Tier1-capital ratio (%) 14.2 14.8
Solvency ratio (RAR) (%) 14.9 15.8
Personnel 471 471

Key figures

Management

Pictures

Bank J.Van Breda & C°

Beneficial interest AvH: 78.75%
AvH Contact: Jan Suykens
www.bankvanbreda.be

Bank J.Van Breda & C° is a specialized advisory bank focusing exclusively on entrepreneurs and liberal professionals. ABK bank positions itself as an asset manager for private clients. Van Breda Car Finance offers car finance and leasing services through car dealers.

Information from the 2017 annual report

Financial overview 2017

In 2017, Bank J.Van Breda & C° again reported a solid commercial performance. The commercial volumes (total invested by client + lending to clients) increased by 10%, from 16.7 billion euros at year-end 2016 to 18.3 billion euros at year-end 2017.

The bank’s equity increased to 539 million euros, with a 7.4% return on equity (ROE). The consolidated net profit amounted to 39.1 million euros (+4% compared with 2016), which is a good performance given the bank’s conservative investment policy and the persistently low interest rates.

Breda -en

 

Growth in off-balance sheet investments and bank product

The consolidated bank product increased by 6% to 141 million euros. Realized capital gains, dividends and results of hedging instruments represent less than 3% of the total bank product, which is hence almost entirely commercially driven. The interest result decreased by 2%, despite the increase in deposits (+8%) and loans (+7%). This is a consequence of a flat yield curve, the pressure on the interest margin, and the bank’s strategy of prioritizing security over performance in its investment portfolio. The net fee income increased by 16%, driven by a 12% growth in off-balance sheet products of clients.

The investment trajectory of previous years continued unabated. The bank’s own fully integrated IT platform puts Bank J.Van Breda & Co in an excellent position to take full advantage of the opportunities presented by the digitization. The bank also continues to invest in new branch offices and in commercial strength.

The costs increased by 5% to 83.6 million euros, primarily as a result of those forward-looking investments in commercial strength. Thanks to a high level of efficiency, the cost-income ratio decreased further from 59.4% in 2016 to 59.1% in 2017.

 

Increase in invested funds and lending

The total invested by clients increased by 1.3 billion euros, or 10%, to more than 13.7 billion euros. This testifies to the clients’ confidence in their bank. The total loan portfolio increased by 7% to more than 4.5 billion euros.

The provisions for loan losses remained limited to 0.04% of the average loan portfolio, or 1.7 million euros. Nevertheless, this cautious policy didn’t limit lending, causing the consolidated loan portfolio to grow by 7%.

 

Strong liquidity and solvency

Its cautious approach guarantees a comfortable liquidity position for Bank J.Van Breda & Co at all times. The Liquidity Coverage Ratio (LCR) and the Net Stable Funding Ratio (NSFR) stood at 143% and 121% respectively, which is well above the requisite lower limit of 100%. The Core Tier1 capital ratio amounted to 14.2%. The loan portfolio is financed entirely from client deposits, making the bank independent from external funding on the international markets.

The equity (group share) increased from 518 million euros to 539 million euros. This allows the bank to sustain commercial growth without losing a healthy leverage, which is the best protection for the depositors. The solvency expressed as equity to assets (leverage ratio) stood at 8.9%, well above the 3% which the regulator wants to introduce at the earliest by 2018 under Basel III.

Operational overview 2017

Bank J.Van Breda & C°

The trend of steady commercial growth continued in 2017. With an overall increase of 1.3 billion euros (+11%), the total invested by entrepreneurs and liberal professionals amounted to 13.4 billion euros.

Despite a context of low interest income, the client deposits increased by 325 million euros (+8%) to a total volume of 4.3 billion euros. The growth is virtually entirely attributable to the current accounts. Thanks to its asset management strategy, Bank J.Van Breda & C° also has a substantial volume of long-term deposits. Despite the low interest rates, the outflow of those deposits remained limited.

The off-balance sheet products increased by 1 billion euros (+12%) to 9.1 billion euros, of which 5.4 billion euros is managed by Delen Private Bank.

Thanks in part to the improved economic climate and despite stiff competition, the volume of lending to entrepreneurs and liberal professionals increased by 274 million euros (+7%) to 4.1 billion euros.

 

ABK bank

As a result of a merger with Bank J.Van Breda & C° on 17/11/2017, ABK bank is now a division of Bank J.Van Breda & C°. Since the acquisition in 2011, ABK bank has repositioned itself as a premium bank for individuals. ABK assists clients in building up, managing and protecting their assets with a view to the long-term. In so doing, ABK bank continues to honour the tradition of simple and transparent products.

ABK bank reported a strong commercial performance by attracting new clients with investments. The bank’s external profile was reinforced by its sponsoring of the Belgian Bullets, the successful Belgian women’s bobsleigh team. The contract runs until the 2018 Winter Olympics.

At year-end 2017, clients had entrusted 358 million euros worth of assets (+4%). Within the category of client deposits, there was an outflow of non-core clients, which was more than compensated by the increase in off-balance sheet products of the core clients. This increase was to be found in asset management and the funds of Delen Private Bank as well as in investment insurance.

The loan portfolio decreased by 16.6 million euros to 108 million euros. This decrease is almost entirely attributable to the decrease of professional loans, which has ceased to be the strategic focus since the acquisition.

Despite all the investments and the development of greater commercial strength, the costs decreased by 6%.

 

Van Breda Car Finance

In a slightly growing car market (+1.3% in new passenger car registrations), Van Breda Car Finance recorded a strong commercial performance. The new production volume increased by 20% in 2017, while the portfolio increased by 15% to 367 million euros. Thanks to the further increase of the share of financial leasing in the total production volume, the interest margin increased.

Provisions for loan losses increased, but still remained low at just 0.14% of the average loan portfolio. This means that Van Breda Car Finance reported a good result in 2017 as well.

 

Outlook 2018

The strong financial results of 2017 were supported by the good stock market climate and a renewed optimism among European consumers and businesses. The European economy is currently being driven by a widespread positive momentum, inspiring the European Central Bank (ECB) to start tightening its policy after the example of the Federal Reserve (US central bank). This turnaround, however, may be accompanied by some degree of nervousness. It should also be remembered that the present recovery cycle is now the second longest in the modern economic era.

The continuing pressure on interest margins, the high bank taxes and the necessary investments in the future affect profit growth. Nevertheless, Bank J.Van Breda & C° remains well equipped for the future in each of its three areas of activity.

The goodwill, reputation, positioning, constant investments and sound financial structure of the bank constitute a solid basis for a long-term financial growth.

Open

Press releases

Présentation

Banque J.Van Breda & C° SA

AvH: 78,75%

(€ 1.000) 2017 2016
Produit bancaire 141.380 133.964
Résultat net 39.081 37.736
Fonds propres 538.718 518.257
Total du bilan 5.424.639 4.992.240
Avoirs investis 13.742.754 12.448.468
Portefeuille de crédits 4.528.679 4.223.318
Réductions de valeur sur credits (%) 0,04 0,01
Coefficient d'exploitation
Cost-income ratio (%)
59,1 59,4
Rendement sur fonds propres moyens (%) 7,4 7,4
Core Tier1-ratio de capital (%) 14,2 14,8
Ratio de solvabilité (RAR) (%) 14,9 15,8
Personnel 471 471

 

 

Chiffres clés

Direction

Photos

Banque J.Van Breda & C°

Beneficial interest AvH: 78,75%
AvH Contact: Jan Suykens
www.bankvanbreda.be

La Banque J.Van Breda & C° est une banque conseil spécialisée qui s’adresse exclusivement aux entrepreneurs et aux professions libérales. ABK bank se positionne en tant que gestionnaire de fortune pour particuliers. Van Breda Car Finance propose des financements automobiles et du leasing financier automobile via les concessionnaires.

Informations extraites du rapport annuel 2017

Aperçu financier de l’année 2017

La Banque J.Van Breda & C° a une nouvelle fois affiché des résultats commerciaux solides en 2017. Les volumes commerciaux (total investi par les clients + octroi de crédits aux clients) ont augmenté de 10%, passant de 16,7 milliards d’euros fin 2016 à 18,3 milliards d’euros fin 2017.

Les fonds propres de la banque ont augmenté pour s’établir à 539 millions d’euros, avec un rendement sur fonds propres (ROE) de 7,4%. Le bénéfice net consolidé s’est établi à 39,1 millions d’euros (+4% par rapport à 2016). Il s’agit d’une bonne performance au vu de la politique d’investissement prudente de la banque et du niveau bas persistant des taux d’intérêt.

Breda -fr

 

Croissance des placements hors bilan et du produit bancaire

Le produit bancaire consolidé a augmenté de 6% pour s’établir à 141 millions d’euros. Les plus-values réalisées, les revenus de dividendes et les résultats provenant des instruments de couverture représentent moins de 3% du total du produit bancaire, lequel est donc presque entièrement soutenu par les activités commerciales.

Le résultat d’intérêts a diminué de 2% malgré la croissance des dépôts (+8%) et des crédits (+7%). Ceci résulte d’une courbe des taux plate, de la pression sur la marge d’intérêt et de la stratégie de la banque visant à faire passer la sécurité avant le rendement dans son portefeuille d’investissements. Les revenus de commissions nets ont augmenté de 16%, grâce à la croissance de 12% des placements hors bilan des clients.

Le processus d’investissement de ces dernières années s’est poursuivi sans discontinuer. Avec sa propre plateforme IT entièrement intégrée, la Banque J.Van Breda & Co est idéalement placée pour tirer parti des opportunités de la numérisation. La banque continue également à investir dans de nouvelles agences et dans la force commerciale.

Les charges ont augmenté de 5% et s’établissent à 83,6 millions d’euros, principalement en raison des investissements dans la force commerciale réalisés dans une perspective d’avenir. Grâce à un haut niveau d’efficience, le cost-income ratio a encore diminué, passant de 59,4% en 2016 à 59,1% en 2017.

 

Augmentation des actifs investis et de l’octroi de crédits

Le total investi par les clients a augmenté de 1,3 milliard d’euros pour atteindre plus de 13,7 milliards d’euros, soit une hausse de 10%. Ceci confirme la confiance des clients à l’égard de leur banque. Le portefeuille de crédits total a augmenté de 7% pour s’établir à plus de 4,5 milliards d’euros.

Les réductions de valeur sur crédits sont restées limitées à 0,04% du portefeuille de crédits moyen, soit 1,7 million d’euros. Cette politique prudente, toutefois, n’a aucunement freiné la production de crédits, le portefeuille de crédits consolidé ayant augmenté de 7%.

 

Liquidité et solvabilité solides

L’approche prudente de la Banque J.Van Breda & Co lui assure en permanence une position de liquidités amplement suffisante. Le ‘Liquidity Coverage Ratio’ (LCR) et le ‘Net Stable Funding Ratio’ (NSFR) se sont établis respectivement à 143% et 121%. Ceci est largement supérieur au seuil exigé de 100%. Le ratio de capital Core Tier1 s’est établi à 14,2%. Le portefeuille de crédits est entièrement financé avec les dépôts de clients, si bien que la banque n’est pas dépendante d’un financement externe sur les marchés internationaux.

Les fonds propres (part du groupe) ont augmenté, passant de 518 millions d’euros à 539 millions d’euros. Cette augmentation des fonds propres permet de poursuivre la croissance commerciale sans affaiblir le levier financier sain qui constitue la principale protection des déposants. La solvabilité, exprimée comme étant le rapport entre fonds propres et actif (‘leverage’ ou ratio de levier), s’élevait à 8,9%. Ceci représente un multiple des 3% que l’autorité de surveillance entend instaurer au plus tôt en 2018, sous Bâle III.

Aperçu opérationnel de l’année 2017 par activité

Banque J.Van Breda & C°

En 2017, la banque a poursuivi sa croissance commerciale constante. Grâce à un accroissement total de 1,3 milliard d’euros (+11%), le total investi par les entrepreneurs et titulaires de profession libérale a atteint 13,4 milliards d’euros.

Malgré un contexte d’intérêts faibles, les dépôts de clients ont augmenté de 325 millions d’euros (+8%) pour atteindre un volume total de 4,3 milliards d’euros. La croissance doit être attribuée presque entièrement aux comptes courants. Grâce à sa stratégie d’accompagnement patrimonial, la Banque J.Van Breda & C° présente aussi un important volume de comptes à terme de longue durée. Malgré les faibles taux d’intérêt, le flux sortant est resté limité à ce niveau.

Les placements hors bilan se sont accru de 1 milliard d’euros (+12%) pour s’établir à 9,1 milliards d’euros. Ce total inclut 5,4 milliards d’euros confiés à Delen Private Bank sous forme de gestion de fortune.

Grâce notamment à l’embellie conjoncturelle et en dépit d’une forte concurrence, le volume de crédits aux entrepreneurs et aux professions libérales a augmenté de 274 millions d’euros (+7%) pour s’établir à 4,1 milliards d’euros.

 

ABK bank

Suite à une fusion intervenue avec la Banque J.Van Breda & C° le 17/11/2017, ABK bank est désormais une division de la Banque J.Van Breda & C°. Depuis le rachat en 2011, ABK bank s’est repositionnée sur le segment de l’accompagnement patrimonial pour particuliers. ABK bank encourage et aide ses clients à adopter une vision à long terme dans la constitution, la gestion et la protection de leur patrimoine. A cet effet, ABK bank reste fidèle à sa tradition de produits simples et transparents.

ABK bank a affiché de bons résultats commerciaux, attirant de nouveaux clients avec des avoirs à investir. Le positionnement externe de la banque a été renforcé par la sponsorisation des Belgian Bullets, l’équipe belge performante de bobsleigh féminine. Le contrat court jusqu’aux Jeux Olympiques d’hiver de 2018.

Fin 2017, les avoirs confiés par les clients atteignaient 358 millions d’euros (+4%). Parmi les dépôts de clients, on relève encore un flux sortant de clients hors groupe cible, mais qui a été plus que compensé par l’augmentation des produits hors bilan des clients du groupe cible. Cette augmentation se situe à la fois dans la gestion de fortune et des fonds de Delen Private Bank et dans les assurances-placements. Le portefeuille de crédits a diminué de 16,6 millions d’euros, s’établissant à 108 millions d’euros. Cette diminution est presque entièrement liée à la baisse des crédits dans le segment professionnel qui, depuis la reprise, ne sont plus la priorité stratégique.

Malgré tous les investissements et le développement de la force commerciale, les charges ont baissé de 6%.

 

Van Breda Car Finance

Dans un marché automobile en légère croissance (+1,3% en nombre d’immatriculations de voitures particulières neuves), Van Breda Car Finance a réalisé de bons résultats commerciaux. Le nouveau volume de production a progressé de 20% en 2017. Le portefeuille a augmenté de 15% pour s’établir à 367 millions d’euros. L’augmentation continue de la part du leasing financier dans le volume de production total a fait croître la marge d’intérêts. Les réductions de valeur sur crédits ont augmenté mais restent à un faible niveau. Elles n’ont pas dépassé 0,14% du portefeuille de crédits moyen. Il résulte de tout cela que Van Breda Car Finance a affiché, à nouveau, un bon résultat en 2017.

 

Perspectives pour 2018

Les bons résultats financiers de 2017 ont été soutenus par le bon climat boursier et par un regain d’optimisme parmi les consommateurs et les entrepreneurs européens. L’économie européenne bénéficie actuellement d’une dynamique positive généralisée, si bien qu’à l’instar de la Réserve fédérale (banque centrale américaine), la Banque centrale européenne (BCE) va commencer à son tour à resserrer sa politique. Ce revirement pourrait toutefois s’accompagner d’une certaine nervosité. En outre, il ne faut pas oublier que l’actuel cycle de redressement est à ce jour, à une exception près, le plus long de l’ère économique moderne.

La pression persistante sur les marges d’intérêts, les taxes bancaires élevées et les investissements indispensables pour l’avenir pèsent sur la croissance des bénéfices. Néanmoins, la Banque J.Van Breda & C° reste bien armée pour l’avenir dans chacun des trois domaines d’activité.

Le fonds de commerce, la réputation, le positionnement, les investissements permanents et la structure financière saine de la banque forment une base solide pour une croissance financière performante sur le long terme.

Open

Communiqués de presse