Board of directors

Luc Bertrand

Chairman, non-executive director

Info

Personal assistant

  • Patricia Bielen
  • E-mail
  • +32 (0)3 897 92 42

Short biography

Luc Bertrand, Chairman, non-executive director

Luc Bertrand (°1951, Belgian) is chairman of the board of directors of Ackermans & van Haaren. He graduated in 1974 as a commercial engineer (KU Leuven). He began his career with at Bankers Trust, as Vice-President and Regional Sales Manager, Northern Europe. He has been with Ackermans & van Haaren since 1986. Chairman of the board of directors of DEME, CFE and Sipef; Director at Delen Private Bank, Bank J.Van Breda & Co and Atenor Group; Mandates as director at ING Belgium. Chairman of de Duve Institute and Middelheim Promotors. Member of the board of several other non-profit organizations and public institutions such as KU Leuven, Voka, Institute of Tropical Medicine, Museum Mayer van den Bergh and Europalia. Luc Bertrand was appointed director at Ackermans & van Haaren in 1985 and he was chairman of the executive committee from 1990 to 2016.

 

Alexia Bertrand

Non-executive director

Short biography

Alexia Bertrand, Non-executive director

Alexia Bertrand (born 1979, Belgian) took a master’s degree in law at the Université Catholique de Louvain (2002) and obtained a Master of Laws degree at Harvard Law School (2005). She works as an adviser at the office of the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs since 2012, and was appointed chef de cabinet for general policy on October 1, 2015. She regularly teaches courses in negotiation techniques. From 2002 to 2012, she worked as a lawyer specializing in financial and company law (with Clifford Chance and later with Linklaters). For part of that time, she was teaching assistant at het Law Faculty of the Université Catholique de Louvain and research assistant at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven. Alexia Bertrand was appointed director at Ackermans & van Haaren in 2013.

 

 

Marion Debruyne

Independent non-executive director

Short biography

Marion Debruyne, Independent non-executive director

Professor Marion Debruyne (°1972, Belgian) holds a degree in civil engineering (1995) and a doctorate degree from the Faculty of Applied Economic Sciences (2002), both at Ghent University. She lectured at Wharton School, Kellogg Graduate School of Management, and Goizueta Business School, all in the USA. Marion Debruyne is currently dean of Vlerick Business School. Her fields of expertise include innovation management, marketing & sales, and strategy.

 

Jacques Delen

Non-executive director

Short biography

Jacques Delen, Non-executive director

Jacques Delen (°1949, Belgian) completed his studies as a stockbroker in 1976. He is chairman of the board of directors of Delen Private Bank since July 1, 2014. He is director with the listed agro-industrial group Sipef and with Bank J.Van Breda & C°. Jacques Delen was appointed director at Ackermans & van Haaren in 1992 and was chairman of the board of directors from 2011 to 2016.

 

Pierre Macharis

Non-executive director

Short biography

Pierre Macharis, Non-executive director

Pierre Macharis (°1962, Belgian) completed a master's degree in commercial and financial sciences (1986) and also earned a degree in industrial engineering with a specialisation in automation (1983). He is currently CEO and chairman of the executive committee of VPK Packaging Group, a vertically integrated packaging group headquartered in Belgium. Pierre Macharis is also chairman of Cobelpa, the Association of Belgian Pulp, Paper and Boards Industries, and is a director at CEPI, the Confederation of European Paper Industries. Member of the board of directors and of the executive committee of FEB. Pierre Macharis was appointed director at Ackermans & van Haaren in 2004 and is chairman of the remuneration committee since 2011.

 

Julien Pestiaux

Independent, non-executive director

Short biography

Julien Pestiaux, Independent, non-executive director

Julien Pestiaux (°1979, Belgian)graduated in 2003 as electromechanical civil engineer (specialization energy) at the Université Catholique de Louvain and also obtained a master's degree in engineering management at Cornell University (USA). Julien Pestiaux specializes in energy and climate themes and is partner at Climact, a company that advises on these topics. In 2013, he finalized a strategic plan for sustainable energy in Belgium for the federal government, in cooperation with the Department for Energy and Climate Change in the UK. Before that, he worked for five years as a consultant and project leader at McKinsey & C°. Julien Pestiaux was appointed director at Ackermans & van Haaren in 2011 and is a member of the audit committee.

 

 

Thierry van Baren

Independent, non-executive director

Short biography

Thierry van Baren, Independent, non-executive director

Thierry van Baren (°1967, Franch/ Dutch) holds a master's degree and teaching qualification in philosophy as well as an MBA from Solvay Business School. He is currently an independent consultant. Thierry van Baren was appointed director at Ackermans & van Haaren in 2006. He is a member of the audit committee and of the remuneration committee.

 

Frederic van Haaren

Non-Executive Director

Short biography

Frederic van Haaren, Non-Executive Director

Frederic van Haaren (°1960, Belgian) is an independent entrepreneur and Alderman of the municipality of Kapellen. He is also active as a director for various companies and associations: director at water-link and at Koepel van Vlaamse Bosgroepen, chairman of the non-profit organization Consultatiebureau voor het Jonge Kind in Kapellen, of Zonnekind primary school in Kalmthout and of Bosgroepen Antwerpen Noord, as well as member of the police council of the police zone Noord. Frederic van Haaren was appointed director at Ackermans & van Haaren in 1993.

 

Pierre Willaert

Non-executive director

Short biography

Pierre Willaert, Non-executive director

Pierre Willaert (°1959, Belgian)holds a master's degree in commercial and financial sciences and obtained the degree of the Belgian Association of Financial Analists (ABAF-BVFA), of which he is still a member. He worked for many years as a financial analyst at Bank Puilaetco and covered the main sectors represented on the Belgian stock exchange. Later he became responsible for the institutional management department. Pierre Willaert was a managing partner and member of the audit committee at Bank Puilaetco until 2004 and is a director at Tein Technology, a Brussels based ICT company specializing in, among other things, video surveillance. Pierre Willaert was appointed director at Ackermans & van Haaren in 1998 and has been chairman of the audit committee since 2004.

 

 

 

Specific committees

Audit committee Pierre Willaert
Julien Pestiaux
Thierry van Baren
President
Remuneration committee Pierre Macharis
Julien Pestiaux
Thierry van Baren
President
Nomination committee All members of the board of directors       

The board of directors is of the opinion that its limited size (10 members) does not impede efficient deliberation and decisionmaking and that the board of directors as a whole is better able to evaluate the size, composition and succession planning of a.o. the board of directors.

 

Special reports

  • Special report of the board of directors dated August 23, 2011, prepared in accordance with art. 604 of the Company Code (authorized capital). (The document is only available in Dutch).
  • Special report of the board of directors dated October 10, 2017, prepared in accordance with art. 604 of the Company Code (authorized capital). (The document is only available in Dutch).

Conseil d'administration

Luc Bertrand

Président, administrateur non exécutif

Info

Assistant personnel

  • Patricia Bielen
  • E-mail
  • +32 (0)3 897 92 42

Biographie courte

Luc Bertrand, Président, administrateur non exécutif

Luc Bertrand (°1951, belge) est président du conseil d'administration d’Ackermans & van Haaren. Il a obtenu en 1974 le diplôme d’ingénieur commercial (KU Leuven). Il a commencé sa carrière chez Bankers Trust, où il a assumé la fonction de Vice-President et Regional Sales Manager, Northern Europe. Il est en fonction chez Ackermans & van Haaren depuis 1986. Président du conseil d'administration de DEME, CFE et Sipef; Administrateur de Delen Private Bank, Banque J.Van Breda & Co et Atenor Group; Mandat d'administrateur chez ING Belgium. Président de l'Institut de Duve et de Middelheim Promotors. Membre du conseil d'administration d'une série d'autres associations sans but lucratif et d'institutions publiques comme la KU Leuven, Voka, l'Institut de Médecine Tropicale, le Musée Mayer van den Bergh et Europalia. Luc Bertrand a été nommé administrateur d’Ackermans & van Haaren en 1985 et il était président du comité exécutif de 1990 à 2016.

 

Alexia Bertrand

Administrateur non exécutif

Biographie courte

Alexia Bertrand, Administrateur non exécutif

Alexia Bertrand (°1979, belge) a obtenu le diplôme de licenciée en droit à l’Université Catholique de Louvain (2002) et a obtenu un Master of Laws à la Harvard Law School (2005). Elle travaille depuis 2012 comme conseillère au cabinet du Vice-Premier Ministre et Ministre des Affaires étrangères et a été nommée, le 1er octobre 2015, chef de cabinet politique générale. Elle donne périodiquement des formations en techniques de négociation. De 2002 à 2012, Alexia Bertrand fut active comme avocate spécialisée en droit financier et droit des sociétés (chez Clifford Chance depuis chez Linklater). Pendant une partie de cette période, elle était assistante à la faculté de Droit de l'Université Catholique de Louvain et collaboratrice scientifique à la Katholieke Universiteit Leuven. Alexia Bertrand a été nommé administratrice d’Ackermans & van Haaren en 2013.

 

 

 

Marion Debruyne

Administrateur indépendant, non exécutif

Biographie courte

Marion Debruyne, Administrateur indépendant, non exécutif

Le Professeur Marion Debruyne (°1972, belge), a effectué des études d’ingénieur civil (1995) et a doctoré à la faculté des sciences économiques appliquées (2002), tous deux à l’Université de Gand. Elle a enseigné à la Wharton School, à la Kellogg Graduate School of Management et à la Goizueta Business School, toutes trois aux Etats-Unis. Marion Debruyne est actuellement doyenne de la Vlerick Business School. Gestion de l’innovation, marketing & sales et stratégie font partie de ses domaines d’expertise.

 

Jacques Delen

Administrateur non exécutif

Biographie courte

Jacques Delen, Administrateur non exécutif

Jacques Delen (°1949, belge) a obtenu en 1976 le diplôme d'agent de change. Jacques Delen est président du conseil d'administration de Delen Private Bank depuis le 1er juillet 2014. Il est également administrateur du groupe coté en bourse Sipef, spécialisé dans les plantations, et de la Banque J.Van Breda & C°. Jacques Delen a été nommé administrateur d'Ackermans & van Haaren en 1992 et était président du conseil d'administration de 2011 à 2016.

 

Pierre Macharis

Administrateur non exécutif

Biographie courte

Pierre Macharis, Administrateur non exécutif

Pierre Macharis (°1962, belge) a obtenu en 1986 le diplômede licencié en sciences commerciales et financières et en 1983 le diplôme d'ingénieur industriel en automatisation. Il est actuellement CEO et président du comité de direction de la société VPK Packaging Group, un groupe à intégration verticale actif dans l'emballage et dont le siège central est situé en Belgique. Pierre Macharis est également président de Cobelpa, l'association des fabricants de pâtes, papiers et cartons de Belgique, et est administrateur de CEPI, la confédération européenne des industries papetières. Membre du conseil d'administration et du comité exécutif de la FEB. Pierre Macharis a été nommé administrateur d'Ackermans & van Haaren en 2004 et est président du comité des rémunérations depuis 2011.

 

Julien Pestiaux

Administrateur indépendant, non exécutif

Biographie courte

Julien Pestiaux, Administrateur indépendant, non exécutif

Julien Pestiaux (°1979, belge)a obtenu le diplôme d'ingénieur civil en électromécanique (spécialité énergie) en 2003 à l'Université Catholique de Louvain et a obtenu aussi un master en engineering management à la Cornell University (Etats-Unis). Julien Pestiaux se spécialise dans les matières d’énergie et de climat et est associé chez Climact, un bureau de conseils dans ce segment. Pour le compte du gouvernement fédéral, il a finalisé en 2013 un plan stratégique concernant l’énergie durable en Belgique en association avec le "Department for Energy and Climate Change" au Royaume-Uni. Auparavant, il a été actif durant 5 ans comme consultant et chef de projet chez McKinsey & C°. Julien Pestiaux a été nommé administrateur d’Ackermans & van Haaren en 2011 et est membre du comité d’audit.

 

 

Thierry van Baren

Administrateur non exécutif

Biographie courte

Thierry van Baren, Administrateur non exécutif

Thierry van Baren (°1967, français/ néerlandais) est licencié et agrégé en philosophie et est titulaire d'un MBA obtenu à la Solvay Business School. Il est actuellement consultant indépendant. Thierry van Baren a été nommé administrateur d'Ackermans & van Haaren en 2006. Il est membre du comité de rémunération.

 

Victoria Vandeputte

Administrateur indépendant, non-exécutif

Biographie courte

Victoria Vandeputte, Administrateur indépendant, non-exécutif

Victoria Vandeputte (°1971, belge) est ingénieur civil électomécanique de formation (KU Leuven, 1995) et titulaire d'un Master en gestion des risques de l'Ecole Supérieure de Commerce de Bordeaux (1996). Elle est actuellement membre du comité exécutif et Chief Innovation & Marketing Officer de Diversi Foods (Oetker Group). Victoria Vandeputte a plus de 20 ans d'expérience dans l'industrie chimique et alimentaire, tant au pays qu'à l'étranger, et possède une expertise particulière dans le domaine du marketing et de l'innovation. 

Frederic van Haaren

Administrateur non exécutif

Biographie courte

Frederic van Haaren, Administrateur non exécutif

Frederic van Haaren (°1960, belge) est entrepreneur indépendant et Echevin de la commune de Kapellen. Il est également actif en tant qu'administrateur de différentes sociétés et associations: mandat d'administrateur chez water-link et à la 'Koepel van Vlaamse Bosgroepen', président de Consultatiebureau voor het Jonge Kind à Kapellen, de l'école primaire Zonnekind à Kalmthout et de Bosgroepen Antwerpen Noord et membre du conseil de police de la zone de police Nord. Frederic van Haaren a été nommé administrateur d'Ackermans & van Haaren en 1993.

 

Pierre Willaert

Administrateur non exécutif

Biographie courte

Pierre Willaert, Administrateur non exécutif

Pierre Willaert (°1959, belge)est licencié en sciences commerciales et financières et a obtenu le diplôme de l'Association Belge des Analystes Financiers (ABAF-BVFA), dont il est  toujours membre. Il a occupé longtemps la fonction d’analyste financier à la Banque Puilaetco et suivait à ce titre les principaux secteurs représentés à la bourse belge. Il y a été, par la suite, responsable du département gestion institutionnelle. Pierre Willaert a été associé commandité et membre du comité d’audit de la Banque Puilaetco jusqu’en 2004. Il est aussi administrateur de Tein Technology, une entreprise ICT bruxelloise qui est notamment spécialisée dans la vidéosurveillance. En 1998, Pierre Willaert a été nommé administrateur d’Ackermans & van Haaren et il préside, depuis 2004, le comité d’audit.

 

 

 

Comités spécifiques

Comité d'audit Pierre Willaert
Julien Pestiaux
Marion Debruyne
Président
Comité de rémunération Pierre Macharis
Julien Pestiaux
Thierry van Baren
Président
Comité de nomination Tous les membres du conseil d'administration   

Le conseil d'administration estime que compte tenu du fait que sa taille relativement réduite (10 membres) ne nuit en rien à l'efficacité des délibérations et de la prise de décisions et que le conseil d'administration en tant qu'ensemble est plus à même d'évaluer e.a. sa taille, sa composition et son renouvellement.

 

Rapports spéciaux

  • Rapport spécial du conseil d'administration du 23 aôut 2011 en vertu de l'article 604 du Code des Sociétés (capital authorisé). (Le document n'est disponible qu'en néerlandais.)
  • Rapport spécial du conseil d'administration du 10 octobre 2017 en vertu de l'article 604 du Code des Sociétés (capital authorisé). (Le document n'est disponible qu'en néerlandais.)