Corelio

13%

(€ 1.000, IFRS) 2017 2016
Turnover 631,439 430,310
EBITDA 56,159 57,366
Net result (group share) 14,826 18,242
Shareholders' equity (group share) 281,512 53,024
Net financial position -163,972 -121,789

Key figures

Management

Pictures

Mediahuis

Beneficial interest 13%
AvH Contact: Jan Suykens
www.mediahuis.be

Mediahuis is one of the leading multimedia groups in Belgium and the Netherlands, with prominent news brands, including De Standaard, Het Nieuwsblad, NRC Handelsblad and De Telegraaf.

Information from the 2017 annual report

2017 was a special year for Mediahuis, during which the group expanded into a leading multimedia company in both Belgium and the Netherlands. With news brands such as De Standaard, Het Nieuwsblad/De Gentenaar, Gazet van Antwerpen and Het Belang van Limburg, Mediahuis achieves a daily sales figure of about 516,000 newspapers in Belgium. In the Netherlands, news brands such as NRC Handelsblad, nrc.next, De Telegraaf, Noordhollands Dagblad and De Limburger ensure the daily sale of 1,215,000 newspapers.

The remaining stakes of Corelio and Concentra in Media Groep Limburg, the printing companies of Printing Partners, the door-to-door magazine group Rondom, the regional TV channels (ATV, TV Limburg, TV Oost, ROB TV), Vlaanderen Eén (Nostalgie north), and the participating interests in Metro, De Vijver Media, Nostalgie SA (Nostalgie south) and Flanders Classics, were finally incorporated into Mediahuis.

With the acquisition of Telegraaf Media Groep (TMG) and the contribution of VP Exploitatie as third shareholder, Mediahuis took a big step forward within the growth strategy it embarked on. The explicit choice to focus on the core activities of TMG resulted in the sale of the shares in the Keesing Media Group, while retaining an indirect minority stake of 30%. The plan for the future that TMG announced in the autumn with the aim of attaining a healthy EBITDA level in the short term should result in a revenue increase from digital propositions and a revenue development in line with the market within both the consumer and the advertising markets. Just before the end of the year, an agreement was reached for the sale of TMG’s 23% stake in Talpa Radio Holding B.V. to Talpa, and at the same time the sale of the 29.16% stake of Talpa in TMG to Mediahuis. As a result, Mediahuis held 95.04% of the shares in TMG in 2017, and the stock exchange delisting was in sight.

In addition to a far-reaching focus on the continued digital transformation, Mediahuis also focused on broadening its range, including within the employment market where the group entered into a strategic partnership with Jellow, an online matching platform for freelancers. In addition, Mediahuis provided a capital injection in Wayne Parker Kent (WPK), one of the fastest growing digital content companies in the Netherlands, with the USP of reaching very specific target groups. For the Belgian market, this strategic collaboration with WPK resulted in a joint venture. Mid-2017, the Flemish Government granted SBS a license for a new city radio network. The generalist music radio station will be expanded in 2018, together with Nostalgie (north).

Despite the continued decline in paid newspaper copies and a national advertising market under pressure due to the increasing international digital competition, Mediahuis achieved a consolidated turnover of 631.4 million euros, an EBITDA of 56.2 million euros and a net result of 14.8 million euros in 2017 (2016: 18.2 million euros). This included 17.1 million euros of non-recurring costs.

As a result of the successive acquisitions (TMG) and contributions (by Corelio and Concentra respectively), AvH currently has a 49.9% stake in Mediacore, the controlling shareholder (52.3%) in Corelio. Corelio has a controlling share of 50.57% in Mediahuis. The participation percentage of AvH in Mediahuis is therefore 13.2%.

A focus on strong brands, a concentration of forces and digital transformation continue to be the thread in the strategy of Mediahuis in 2018.

Open

Press releases

Corelio

13%

(€ 1.000, IFRS) 2017 2016
Chiffre d'affaires 631.439 430.310
EBITDA 56.159 57.366
Résultat net (part groupe) 14.826 18.242
Fonds propres (part groupe) 281.512 53.024
Trésorerie nette -163.972 -121.789

Chiffres clés

Direction

Photos

Mediahuis

Beneficial interest 13%
AvH Contact: Jan Suykens
www.mediahuis.be

Mediahuis forme, avec des marques d’information de premier plan telles que De Standaard, Het Nieuwsblad, NRC Handelsblad et De Telegraaf, l’un des principaux groupes multimédia en Belgique et aux Pays-Bas.

Informations extraites du rapport annuel 2017

2017 a été, pour Mediahuis, une année particulière au cours de laquelle le groupe s’est érigé en une entreprise multimédia de premier plan en Belgique et aux Pays-Bas. Avec des marques d’information telles que De Standaard, Het Nieuwsblad/De Gentenaar, Gazet van Antwerpen et Het Belang van Limburg, Mediahuis vend quotidiennement quelque 516.000 journaux en Belgique. Aux Pays-Bas, les marques d’information telles que NRC Handelsblad, nrc.next, De Telegraaf, Noordhollands Dagblad et De Limburger représentent la vente quotidienne de 1.215.000 journaux.

Les parts restantes de Corelio et Concentra dans Media Groep Limburg, les imprimeries de Printing Partners, le groupe de toutes-boîtes Rondom, les chaînes de télévision régionales (ATV, TV Limburg, TV Oost, ROB TV), Vlaanderen Eén (Nostalgie nord) et les participations dans Metro, De Vijver Media, Nostalgie SA (Nostalgie sud) et Flanders Classics ont finalement été apportées dans Mediahuis.

Avec l’acquisition de Telegraaf Media Groep (TMG) et l’apport de VP Exploitatie en tant que troisième actionnaire, Mediahuis a franchi une étape importante dans sa stratégie de croissance. Le choix explicite de se concentrer sur les activités de base de TMG s’est traduit par la vente des parts dans Keesing Media Group, avec toutefois le maintien d’une participation minoritaire indirecte de 30%. Le plan d’avenir annoncé par TMG en automne, dont le but est d’atteindre à court terme un niveau d’EBITDA sain, doit déboucher sur une croissance du chiffre d’affaires provenant des offres numériques et une évolution du chiffre d’affaires conforme au marché, tant sur le marché des consommateurs que sur celui de la publicité. Juste avant la fin de l’année, un accord a été conclu sur la vente de la participation de 23% de TMG dans Talpa Radio Holding B.V. à Talpa et, dans le même temps, la vente de la participation de 29,16% de Talpa dans TMG à Mediahuis. En conséquence, Mediahuis détenait, fin 2017, 95,04% des actions de TMG avec, en perspective, une sortie de bourse.

Outre l’attention particulière portée à la poursuite de la transformation numérique, Mediahuis a aussi porté ses efforts sur l’élargissement de son offre. De même que sur le marché du travail, où le groupe a conclu un partenariat stratégique avec Jellow, une plateforme en ligne mettant en relation free-lances et clients. Mediahuis a en outre opéré une injection de capital dans Wayne Parker Kent (WPK), l’une des sociétés de contenu numérique affichant la plus forte croissance aux Pays-Bas, qui propose d’atteindre des groupes cibles très spécifiques. Pour le marché belge, ce partenariat stratégique avec WPK a débouché sur une joint-venture. A la mi-2017, le gouvernement flamand a accordé à SBS une licence pour un nouveau réseau de radio urbaine. La station de radio musicale généraliste sera étendue en 2018, conjointement avec Nostalgie (nord).

En dépit d’une baisse persistante des ventes de journaux au numéro et d’un marché publicitaire national sous pression en raison d’une concurrence numérique internationale croissante, Mediahuis a réalisé en 2017 un chiffre d’affaires consolidé de 631,4 millions d’euros, un EBITDA de 56,2 millions d’euros et un résultat net de 14,8 millions d’euros (2016 : 18,2 millions d’euros). Ces chiffres incluent 17,1 millions d’euros de charges non récurrentes.

Suite aux acquisitions (TMG) et aux apports (par Corelio et Concentra respectivement) successifs, AvH détient aujourd’hui une participation de 49,9% dans Mediacore, l’actionnaire de contrôle (52,3%) de Corelio. Corelio détient une participation de contrôle de 50,57% dans Mediahuis. Le pourcentage de participation d’AvH dans Mediahuis s’élève ainsi à 13,2%.

En 2018, l’accent sera mis sur des marques fortes, le regroupement des forces et la transformation numérique. Ceci continuera d’être le leitmotiv de la stratégie de Mediahuis.

Open

Communiqués de presse